Dunleavy appoints new members to Board of Regents

Gov. Mike Dunleavy appointed two new regents to the University of Alaska Board of Regents.

Tammy Randolph, a State Farm insurance agent from North Pole and Darrol Hargraves of Wasilla are Dunleavy’s picks to succeed departing regents, Deena Bishop of Anchorage and Jyotsna Heckman of Fairbanks.

Bishop served on the Academic and Student Affairs Committee and Planning and Development Committee.

Heckman served on the Academic and Student Affairs Committee, Ad Hoc Committee on Title IX, Ad Hoc Committee on Presidential Performance and the University of Alaska Foundation.

In an interview with the Fairbanks Daily News-Miner, Randolph is quoted saying, “I have not paid attention to the budget issues, so I don’t know how I feel about anything yet.”

Randolph comes to the position with experience on the Greater Fairbanks Chamber of Commerce board.

The UA Board of Regents is comprised of an 11-member board, appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Alaska Legislature.

- Advertisement -

The board votes on matters pertaining to the university budget, education program structure and university initiatives.