Development director receives recognition for her work

Terri Hokanson, UAA’s director of the Office of Development has been named by the Anchorage Chamber of Commerce for one of their top 40 under 40 awards. The awards recognize 40 leaders in Anchorage and the state of Alaska who are younger than 40 years old.

There was an especially large pool of entries this year, said Emily Ford, the chamber’s communication specialist.

“This year we received more nominations than any,” she said. “It’s been a real job selecting the winners.”

Hokanson said she was surprised to hear she won the award and that she wasn’t aware of it until members of the press began calling her for interviews.

“I was very surprised and humbled,” Hokanson said. “It’s wonderful to be honored in this way.”

As director of the Office of Development, Hokanson works with University Advancement to increase overall quality at UAA.

“So much of what we do is with the external community and helping UAA be a strong partner with the community of Anchorage , the state of Alaska and the Alaska legislature,” Hokanson said.

congratulations from UPD to UAA graduates
- Advertisement -

Hokanson was one of the major forces behind the evolution of the Office of Development. With help from other important players, such as former Chancellor Lee Gorsuch, she has managed to build the office up by attracting more notable staff, raising funds and creating new projects.

Hokanson said it wasn’t long before she found out who nominated her for the honor. Tlisa Northcutt, donor relations director for the Office of Development and former 40 under 40 award recipient put her up for the award.

“She is a great leader,” Northcutt said. “I think she has done wonders for our department. We’ve met all our goals. Because of her leadership we’ve actually exceeded all of our goals.”

The 40 under 40 awards will be presented at the Sheraton Hotel on Oct. 25. Doors open at 11:30 a.m. and the ceremony begins at noon. Tickets are available from the Anchorage Chamber of Commerce or on the web at .