The beginning of Bartlett Lecture Series

The Bartlett Lecture Series was established in 1970 by the Bob Bartlett Memorial fund and the University of Alaska Anchorage. The series is designed to promote a clearer vision of individual freedom and the public good.

The Bartlett lecture committee selects one presenter of national and international importance every year. This year’s speaker is Kevin Bales, director of the national human rights organization Free the Slaves. Past lecturers include Hugh Gallagher, Jill Cornell Tarter, Morris Dees and more.

“The committee meets and we select someone who we feel will be of interest to students and the community,” Sherri Conway, committee chair, said.

The committee consists of two students, a representative from Club Council and one from student government and three faculty members. This year there is only one student, Jeana Choglin from Club Council. The three faculty members are Steve Langdon of the anthropology department, Sharon Araji of the sociology department and June Namias of the history and geography department.

Committee members individually come up with ideas and come back to discuss them with the committee. They look for a lecturer who will fit its budget and emphasis on individual freedom and the public good.

The amount of money spent on the lecture series varies from year to year. This year the entire event will be put on for less than $10,000. This includes appearances by Bales in Anchorage, Fairbanks and Juneau.