{Sports Briefs}


UAA fourth once more

The UAA men have been picked to finish the upcoming season exactly where they ended last year: fourth in the Great Northwest Athletic Conference.

The fourth annual GNAC preseason coaches’ poll puts the Seawolves behind the University of Alaska Fairbanks, Seattle Pacific and Western Washington. The Nanooks received the most first-place votes after finishing last year with a record of 23-7.

Last season, the Seawolves were 20-10 (10-8 in conference) and qualified for the NCAA Division II Tournament.

The team has added 10 newcomers including two Division I transfers to play with four returners. The season begins with the Green and Gold Scrimmage Nov. 5 and the first game, an exhibition tilt against Long Beach State, Nov. 11.


- Advertisement -

Catch some air for UAA skiing

Can’t wait until the snow covers the slopes at Alyeska? Then come live vicariously through pro skiers with Matchstick Production’s Yearbook: The Year of Skiing 2004.

The movie, which is sponsored by UAA ski team, will show at 7 p.m. and 9 p.m. on Friday, Nov. 5. Tickets are $10 at the door of the Wendy Williamson Auditorium.

The movie features some of the world’s most famous extreme ski stars flying off mountains and jumps with mind-boggling results. Whether doing a double back somersault off a cliff into a parachute free fall or going airborne on skies that breathe fire, Yearbook takes winter sports to the extreme.

Proceeds benefit the UAA Nordic and Alpine ski programs. For more information, call 786-4806.

Cross Country

GNAC honors cross country student-athletes

They’re fast and they’re smart, too.

Seven runners on UAA’s cross country squad are among 68 athletes from the Great Northwest Athletic Conference named to the Academic All-Conference Team. To be eligible, athletes must maintain a grade point average over 3.2, be in their second full season of competition and have run at the GNAC championships

This year’s class includes six UAA women, which is good enough to tie for second most in conference.

Mandy Kaempf (3.85, sociology), Nicole DeYong (3.79, natural sciences), Sarah Hansen (3.76, language arts), Anjuli Haydu (3.51, undeclared), Kamie Jo Massey (3.45, nursing) and Stephanie Myers (3.30, biology) all received the award as did Nate Normandin (3.46, mathematics) for the men.